jump to navigation

Green Eggs and Ham March 2, 2007

Posted by jak in Creative Writing, Life, Poem, Poetry, Writing.
trackback

greenegg.gif

I do not like them in a box.
I do not like them with a fox.
– by Dr. Suess

Today is the birthday of a great writer and one of the first poets I ever read, Dr. Suess. A true genius when it came to connecting to children, he would of been 103 today.

Interesting fact: Though Theodor Seuss Geisel (Dr. Suess) himself said many times Seuss — rhymes with voice, his name has universally been mispronounced as rhyming with “juice”, a grand irony for a writer who built his legacy on odd rhymes.

You’re wrong as the deuce
And you shouldn’t rejoice
If you’re calling him Seuss.
He pronounces it Soice.
– by friend and colleague Alexander Liang

Here’s to you Dr. Suess, for inspiring creativity and a love for reading in so many American kids. And on behalf of us all, I apologize for butchering your name for so long.

Source

Comments»

1. gettinggreen - March 3, 2007

I do not like them here or there,
I do not like them anywhere!

I always wished I could be more like Cindy Loo Who…

Great site — and btw, I finally figured out how to let people subscribe to my blog via email, so you can find the link down on the right-hand side of greenasathistle.com

Cheers, V.

2. Jak - March 3, 2007

Cindy Loo Who?

“until neither the Plain nor the Star-Bellies knew
Whether this one was that one or that one was this one.
Or which one was what one or what one was who.”

3. kc37 - March 17, 2007

Seuss is the man!!

4. writesome - September 13, 2007

“…And so,” said the Cat in the Hat, “so so so… I will show you another good game that I know!”

I so love his voice
that Dr. Seuss

Thanks for that tidbit!


Leave a Reply

