jump to navigation

Songbird Still March 13, 2007

Posted by jak in Creative Writing, health, Life, Poem, Poetry, Writing.
trackback

On winter’s eve I carved a lark
From ancient grain
Woven and dark

I carefully emptied its wings
As my mind filled
With strange cold things

On winter’s eve my eyes shut tight
I left low limbs
And fell to flight

I starved my legs, my arms, and core
Inside my body
My organs tore

On winter’s eve the leaves dropped dead
Frail and fleeting
Drifting to bed.

I stared at shock, bathed in dull pain
Still and meek,
The Lark remained.

© 2007 Argonaut

Comments»

1. aplayfulmind - March 14, 2007

It hurts just to read this … I feel this pain I couldn’t explain. Beautiful.

“I starved my legs, my arms, and core
Inside my body
My organs tore

On winter’s eve the leaves dropped dead
Frail and fleeting
Drifting to bed.”

Ah, that feeling is too familiar :)

2. ngriffin - March 17, 2007

Beautifully written! My favorite is the way you ended it.

3. Thank you Nina - Poem of the Day « Argonaut - August 20, 2007

[…] big thanks to Nina over at http://www.NinaAlverez.net for posting my poem “Songbird Still” as the poem of the day over. Check out her website. There is loads of poetry appreciation to […]

4. maryt - August 20, 2007

Wonderful poem, Jason. I’ll visit again.

5. soundstranded - November 7, 2009

Nice way to depict winter themes


Leave a Reply

