jump to navigation

i sit in newness December 9, 2007

Posted by jak in america, Creative Writing, Life, love, Poem, Poetry, stream of conciousness, Writing.
trackback

i sit in newness,
cluttered with my old,
piles of unwanted,
uncontrollably defined by what i own.
I know this is one of the reasons I love my writing. It can’t be held or sold, or bought, and although it can age, it cannot die.
i sit in newness, piled with possessions,
some soon to be trash, others soon to sit in neater stacks.
I sit in newness, at one with my ideas.
Its stunning how much a bare wall can define you.
How the lack of art or music, or comfortable shoes, can make a healthy, whole person feel incomplete. My religous friends would tell me I need to be at peace with God, then I will feel complete. But I tend to find the same stacks of possessions in their homes too.
Good or bad,
I sit in newness, comfortable with the feeling,
ready to get rid of many old things, knowing that they will soon be replaced with new ones.
I sit in newness, excited to fill the space, surrounded by old things, at peace with what is important. I know what is needed, I know what needs to be new. I sit in newness, because it pushes me and my thoughts to continue.

 

© 2007 Argonaut

Comments»

1. attore - December 9, 2007

Compelling. I love the mental picture I get of a man in the midst of a miserly amount of minutiae. Thanks for your comment as well.

2. writerlulu - December 9, 2007

I love this image—old stacks, boxes, possessions—all in contrast to uncluttered new thoughts, thoughts with more power than the possessions have. That’s one of the things I enjoy about writing too. Good for you, Jason.

3. mysoul - December 9, 2007

Letting go of the old, the comfortable, the clutter is freeing. Enjoy the newness.

4. Nancy Lee - December 10, 2007

I really like this Jason.
Very thought provoking piece of writing.

5. Tanya - December 10, 2007

There’s something massively cathartic about getting rid of old stuff, even just sorting through stuff you haven’t looked at in ages. I find I have these moments when I NEED to get rid of things, when I feel randomly ruthless and in need of a clear-out.

6. qazse - December 11, 2007

I really really like this. It seems like you are flying and free.

7. Amanda Sanz - December 11, 2007

Very beautiful, there is a great need to combine the old with the new self. To hold on to the best from the old and to become even better with the new.

8. janetleigh - January 6, 2008

While reading, I felt comforted in knowing others are clearing the slate to make room for the new. A newness we can’t hold back any more than we can hold back time. I like beginnings, letting loose the excess baggage we carry around, permitting new ideas and adventure enter into our time, space. Thanks for this contemplative nudge, Jason (I wrote “nude” the first time, glad I caught it, eh?..;).


Leave a Reply

